Upcoming Events

Research Assistant and Research Opportunity

January 31, 2019 (All day)
Philippines

Junior Resident Fellows Program in Siem Reap, Cambodia

February 28, 2019 (All day)
Siem Reap, Cambodia

Khmer Language and Culture Study Program Summer, Cambodia

February 28, 2019 (All day)
Cambodia

News & Views

The Atlantic
Cambodian Deportees Return to a 'Home' They've Never Known

Cambodian Deportees Return to a 'Home' They've Never Known

America is deporting Cambodian refugees convicted of crimes. Did the U.S. have a responsibility to help them when they first arrived as refugees? Charles Dunst writes for The Atlantic. 

Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
Philippine Politics Under Duterte: A Midterm Assessment

Philippine Politics Under Duterte: A Midterm Assessment

More than two years into Rodrigo Duterte's presidency, the record is mixed with change, continuity, and regression. This should prompt more robust U.S. support for democracy in the Philippines....

Margaret Scott in discussion with Ahmad Fuadi, author of the "Land of Five Towers" at AAWW.

NYSEAN co-founder, Margaret Scott, joined by Lutfi Kurniawan, Director of the Indonesian Film Forum New York, and Almad Fuadi, bestselling author in a reading and film screening of Fuadi's novel...

South China Morning Post
Was Cambodia’s US$300 million Khmer Rouge tribunal worth it?

Was Cambodia’s US$300 million Khmer Rouge tribunal worth it?

After spending nine years and more than US$300 million to prosecute the leaders of Cambodia’s Khmer Rouge responsible for the deaths of 1.7 million of their countrymen, a United Nations-assisted...

A jockey rests between races at Bangkok's Royal Turf Club, August 5, 2018. Photo: Duncan McCargo

Asia Times: Finish line for century-old Bangkok horse track

NYSEAN Co-Founder Duncan McCargo reports on the closing of Bangkok's military-affiliated Royal Turf Club after 102 years of racing. 

Institute for Policy Analysis of Conflict

Institute for Policy Analysis of Conflict (IPAC): Managing Indonesia's Pro-ISIS Deportees

NYSEAN Partner Institute for Policy Analysis of Conflict released "Managing Indonesia's Pro-ISIS Deportees", a report on the complex problem of how to monitor and integrate pro-ISIS deportees.

Resisting Impunity

Indonesia at Melbourne: Talking Indonesia Podcast - resisting impunity

More than 50 years on from the 1965-66 mass killings and 20 years after the fall of the New Order authoritarian government, how is Indonesia facing up to this violent past? How does this past...

Sidney Jones

Sidney Jones in The New York Times: How ISIS Has Changed Terrorism in Indonesia

Sidney Jones, director of NYSEAN partner the Institute for Policy Analysis of Conflict in Jakarta, writes that the series of terrorist attacks in Indonesia can tell us about the way supporters of...

Pages

Library

Members

Connect with other NYSEAN members focused on Society. Add your name.

Dina Afrianty

La Trobe Law School dafrianty@gmail.com
Adizak's picture

Adizak

zsaldridge@gmail.com
Reyhanillo Andi Kasim's picture

Reyhanillo Andi Kasim

Seton Hall University, WFUNA andikasim.ry@gmail.com
Nathan Badenoch's picture

Nathan Badenoch

Center for Southeast Asian Studies, Kyoto University baideanach@gmail.com
Nerissa Balce's picture

Nerissa Balce

State University of New York at Stony Brook marianerissa.balce-cortes@stonybrook.edu
Nathan Benevides's picture

Nathan Benevides

Columbia University School of International Affairs ndb2124@columbia.edu Member
Michelle L Bonati's picture

Michelle L Bonati

State University of New York at Plattsburgh; Centre for Disability Research and Policy, Faculty of Health Sciences at the University of Sydney michelle.bonati@plattsburgh.edu Member

Kenneth Cardenas

York University kcdenas@yorku.ca
Cecily D. Cook's picture

Cecily D. Cook

Asian Cultural Council ccook@accny.org
Nicole CuUnjieng Aboitiz's picture

Nicole CuUnjieng Aboitiz

Weatherhead Center for International Affairs, Harvard; Clare Hall, University of Cambridge nicolecu@gmail.com Member

Bradley Camp Davis

Eastern Connecticut State University davisbrad@easternct.edu Member
phoebedp's picture

phoebedp

Foundation for a Just Society phoebe.depadua@gmail.com
Debbie Sumual-Patlisd's picture

Debbie Sumual-Patlisd

debbie_sumual@yahoo.com

Bella Desai

American Museum of Natural History bdesai@amnh.org
Didar Ali's picture

Didar Ali

Bulbulik Heritage Centre Gulmit deedaar.alee@gmail.com
Jeconiah Louis Dreisbach's picture

Jeconiah Louis Dreisbach

De La Salle University - Manila, Philippines jecondreisbach@gmail.com Member
Ashley Aye Aye Dun's picture

Ashley Aye Aye Dun

New York University aad518@nyu.edu Member
Haris Faozan's picture

Haris Faozan

Columbia University haris.faozan@columbia.edu Member
Thamora Fishel's picture

Thamora Fishel

Cornell Southeast Asia Program tfishel@cornell.edu
Chelsea Garbell's picture

Chelsea Garbell

NYU Robert F. Wagner School of Public Service chelsea.garbell@nyu.edu Coordinator
Jennifer L. Gaynor's picture

Jennifer L. Gaynor

SUNY at Buffalo jennifergaynor44@gmail.com Member
Josh Gedacht's picture

Josh Gedacht

University of Wisconsin-Madison joshgedacht@gmail.com
John Gershman's picture

John Gershman

New York University john.gershman@nyu.edu Founding Member
Alexander Hinton's picture

Alexander Hinton

Rutgers University / Center for the Study of Genocide and Human Rights alexanderlhinton@gmail.com
Chie Ikeya's picture

Chie Ikeya

Rutgers University chie.ikeya@rutgers.edu
Stephanie Gabriella Kalele's picture

Stephanie Gabriella Kalele

New York University stephgkalele@nyu.edu
Naphat Kijsamrej's picture

Naphat Kijsamrej

naphat@gmail.com
Jee Leong Koh's picture

Jee Leong Koh

Singapore Unbound jeeleong.koh@gmail.com
Samak Kosem's picture

Samak Kosem

Chiang Mai University samakkosem@gmail.com
Naoko Kumada's picture

Naoko Kumada

Weatherhead East Asia Institute, Columbia University nk2781@columbia.edu
Mary Kuo's picture

Mary Kuo

CAA Maryakuo@yahoo.com Member
DC Lammerts's picture

DC Lammerts

Rutgers University DCL96@rutgers.edu
Perry Landesberg's picture

Perry Landesberg

Columbia SIPA; Malaysia-America Society; US-Fulbright Program, Malaysia PRLandesberg@gmail.com Member
Kulkanya Lekhyananda's picture

Kulkanya Lekhyananda

Columbia University, SIPA kl2989@columbia.edu

Jorge López Cortina

Seton Hall University lopezjor@shu.edu
Pam McElwee's picture

Pam McElwee

Rutgers University New Brunswick pdmcelwee@gmail.com Member

BenMejia

U.S. Federal Courts, Hunter College ben.mejia@gmail.com

Min Min Hein

The City College of New York mnmnhein@gmail.com

Parthiban Muniandy

Sarah Lawrence College pmuniandy@sarahlawrence.edu
Ann Marie Murphy's picture

Ann Marie Murphy

Seton Hall University AnnMarie.Murphy@shu.edu Founding Member
napaphat's picture

napaphat

King's College London & Mahidol University napaphat.sat@kcl.ac.uk Member
V. Trinh Nguyen's picture

V. Trinh Nguyen

Columbia University vtn2110@columbia.edu Member

nuritasari

asian American Writer's Workshop nuritasari@yahoo.com Member
Craig P. Oehlers's picture

Craig P. Oehlers

craig.oehlers@eurasiananalyst.com

Jonathan Corpus Ong

University of Massachusetts - Amherst jcong@umass.edu
Jieun Park's picture

Jieun Park

Columbia University in the City of New York jp3731@columbia.edu
Daniel Pascoe's picture

Daniel Pascoe

School of Law, City University of Hong Kong dcpascoe@cityu.edu.hk

Aldi Priyanto

Nazareth College apriya26@mail.naz.edu

Geoffrey Robinson

University of California Los Angeles (UCLA) robinson@history.ucla.edu Member
Andrew Rowan's picture

Andrew Rowan

University of California, New Viet Nam Studies Initiative andrew@gktagroup.com Member
Meynardo Mendoza's picture

Meynardo Mendoza

Independent scholar meynardomendoza@yahoo.com Member

Frances Rudgard

Cambodian Living Arts, Mekong Cultural Hub frances@cambodianlivingarts.org
Douglas Sanders's picture

Douglas Sanders

Institute of Human Rights, Mahidol University, Bangkok, Thailand. sanders_gwb@yahoo.ca
Ivan V. Small's picture

Ivan V. Small

Central Connecticut State University ivansmall@ccsu.edu Member
Devin Stewart's picture

Devin Stewart

Carnegie Council dstewart@cceia.org Member
Karen Strassler's picture

Karen Strassler

CUNY karen.strassler@qc.cuny.edu
Chana Tip's picture

Chana Tip

Columbia University and Sciences Po Paris ct2736@columbia.edu
Markus Taussig's picture

Markus Taussig

Rutgers Business School markusdtaussig@gmail.com
Ker Thao's picture

Ker Thao

New York University kt1714@nyu.edu Member
Jeremy Tiang's picture

Jeremy Tiang

Asian American Writers' Workshop jtiang@aaww.org
Annabelle Wenas's picture

Annabelle Wenas

Columbia University akw2133@columbia.edu Member

Claire Willeck

Princeton University cwilleck@princeton.edu Member
Madeline Woker's picture

Madeline Woker

Columbia University mw2981@columbia.edu Member
Ryan Wolfson-Ford's picture

Ryan Wolfson-Ford

University of Wisconsin-Madison rcford@wisc.edu
Kelsey E. Woodrick's picture

Kelsey E. Woodrick

Teachers College, Columbia University kew2145@tc.columbia.edu Member

arnolfo yanto

Bayanihan Club of Union, Knights of Rizal Union Chapter arnold.eaglerock@gmail.com
Eve Zucker's picture

Eve Zucker

Yale Council of Southeast Asian Studies; Cornell Southeast Asia Program; CKS, SEAC emzucker@yahoo.com

Society — Sample teaching cases

Malaysia
Title Author(s) Publisher Pub Datesort descending Revised
The Situation of the Penan and Kenyah Indigenous Peoples vs. the Construction of the Murum Dam in Northern Sarawak, Malaysia University of British Columbia 27 Apr 2018
Indonesia
Title Author(s) Publisher Pub Datesort descending Revised
Illegal Logging in Indonesia University of British Columbia 19 May 2017
Myanmar
Title Author(s) Publisher Pub Datesort descending Revised
Managing a NGO Univeristy of Washington Evans School of Public Policy and Governance: Electronic Hallway

Society — Sample teaching cases

Sorry, no Teaching Cases are available for %term.